COVID-19 Panel

Coronavirus Explained

Coronaviruses are named for the crown-like spikes on the surface. There are 4 main sub-groupings of coronaviruses. Alpha, beta, gamma, and delta. Human coronaviruses were first identified in the mid-1960s. The seven coronaviruses that can infect people are;

  • 229E (alpha)
  • NL63 (alpha)
  • OC43 (beta)
  • HKU1 (beta)
  • MERS-CoV Middle Eastern Respiratory Syndrome (beta)
  • SARS-CoV Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (beta)
  • SARS-CoV-2 COVID-19)

People commonly get infected with human coronaviruses 229E, NL63, and HKU1. SOmetimes coronaviruses that infect animals can evolve and make people sick and become a new human coronavirus. A few would be 2019-nCoV, SARS-CoV, and MERS-CoV.

COVID-19 Molecular Test

This test uses a long swab to collect material, including physical pieces of coronavirus, from the back of the nose where it meets the throat.

  • The diagnostic test can show if you have an active coronavirus infection and should take steps to quarantine or isolate yourself from others. 
Antibody Test

Looks for antibodies that are made by your immune system in response to a threat, such as a specific virus.

  • IgG – Test detects IgG antibodies that develop in most patients within 7 – 10 days after symtoms of COVID-19 begin. IgG antibodies remain in the blood after the infection has passed.
  • IgM – Test detects IgM antibodies. IgM is usually the first antibody produced by the immune system when a virus attacks. A positive IgM test indicates that you may have been infected and that your immune system has started responding to the virus.